Parallels and Excel keyboard shortcut issues

I got Parallels so that I could seamlessly learn Windows Excel keyboard shortcuts for my MBA classes, on my Mac OSX Mojave Mid-2015 machine.

I didn’t want to dual-boot, because I saw my friend you before and it seemed arduous. That’s the opposite of what I need right now. Less barriers, not more.

Finally I came across a solution: https://kb.parallels.com/125000

Essentially, shutdown your Windows install > right click the Parallels icon in the dock > Select Configure. Navigate to the Keyboard and Mouse option. Change the Keyboard dropdown to “Optimize for Gaming”.

Boot up the VM of Windows and test out the keyboard shortcuts in Excel.

Mine worked. If yours did not, there is a secondary step in the KB link around this Keyboard/Excel shortcuts topic from the Parallels’ team.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.